CRIMINAL CHARGES About Firm Our Cases

Hit and Run

Leaving the scene of an accident in Las Vegas, Nevada (hit and run)

Hit and Run in Las VegasThousands of accidents per year happen on the Nevada roads. If you live here, you know from countless television advertisements that Las Vegas drivers are encouraged to hire a lawyer to collect money from the at-fault driver and his or her insurance. So if you cause an accident, you may be scared about the consequences and tempted to flee the scene.

If you are living in fear of a “hit and run” you should contact a traffic violations attorney as soon as possible to avoid severe criminal penalties for this Nevada crime.

An experienced Nevada hit and run lawyer can help you get your case resolved and avoid having this crime follow you for years after the accident.

What to do if you are in an accident

Nevada law imposes certain obligations on drivers involved in a car accident:

  • The duty to stop if there has been an injury or death
  • The duty to give information and aid (even if there are no injuries and you are not at fault)
  • The duty to leave a note or otherwise contact the owner of a vehicle that was not occupied but hit (such as if you hit a parked car)
  • The duty to notify the police if you have hit an unoccupied vehicle or other property

Failing to do any of these things can result in jail time, fines, or other penalties because it can be considered a hit and run accident.

Top Rated Criminal Lawyer

Nick Wooldridge has a long track record of representing clients accused of serious federal and state crimes in Nevada.

TOP RATED ON:
SUPER LAWYERS, AVVO,
NATIONAL TRIAL LAWYERS
SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION NOW!

What are the penalties for a hit and run in Las Vegas?

A hit and run is usually a misdemeanor if there is very minor property damage (less than $750) and no resulting injuries to any person. A Nevada hit and run misdemeanor can result in up to 6 months in county jail and one to two thousand dollars in fines.

If there is major property damage, serious bodily injury, death, or any combination, a hit and run will likely be charged as a felony. This will involve more substantial time in a Nevada prison, several thousand dollars in fines, and possible license suspension.

More Information

Like any Nevada crime, a hit and run can carry serious penalties, including jail time, and can tarnish your record in the future. Let help you if you have been involved in an accident or arrested for a hit and run. This is a stressful time with serious rights at stake, and you deserve the best, most experienced defense possible to resolve the case.

Associations

Nevada Associations

Awards

Super Lawyer Awards

Reviews

Super Lawyer Awards