Out of State DUI
Las Vegas DUI Charges for Out-of-State Visitor or Tourist
Hire an experienced out of state DUI defense lawyer in Las Vegas so you can rest easy knowing your case is handled when you get home.
What should I know about Driving under the Influence if I am visiting Las Vegas?
The legal limit for blood alcohol content in Nevada while driving is .08, even if you do not feel too impaired to drive. Law enforcement is diligent in stopping drivers who appear to be intoxicated. The rule of thumb is one drink per hour, but it is best not to drink and drive at all. Las Vegas has ample transportation options that don’t involve getting behind the wheel after you have been partying! Remember, everyone’s body is different so the one drink per hour rule may not work for you.
When can I be arrested for a DUI in Las Vegas?
- You drive or control a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Your blood alcohol concentration is greater than .08 at the time of arrest or
- Your blood alcohol concentration is greater than .08 two hours after arrest.
Controlled substances in your system over certain amounts also result in a DUI charge.
Top Rated Criminal Lawyer
Nick Wooldridge has a long track record of representing clients accused of serious federal and state crimes in Nevada.
TOP RATED ON: SUPER LAWYERS, AVVO, NATIONAL TRIAL LAWYERS
What is the penalty for DUI for out of state visitors to Las Vegas?
A misdemeanor DUI conviction in Nevada brings the following sentence:
- From 2 days up to 6 months in a Nevada jail
- Fines of $400 t $1,200 with court costs and
- 90-day suspension of the right to drive in Nevada.
This may not seem so bad, until you consider that Nevada reports drunk driving incidents to the driver’s home state Department of Motor Vehicles. This means that your home state may also suspend your driving privileges, require treatment, and impose fines.
You don’t want to handle the charges for DUI alone or from far away. Your fun weekend in Las Vegas can follow you home and impact your ability to drive and get to work after a momentary indiscretion.
Firm is skilled at examining the evidence against you, including breath test and blood test results to see if the state’s case is weak. If so, you may be able to walk away with a reckless driving conviction. A reckless driving convictions has similar penalties as a first time DUI offense in Nevada, but it does not count against your record as a DUI.
Many states, including Nevada, have serious enhanced penalties for drivers with multiple DUI convictions. Get help as soon as possible if you are not a Nevada resident and have been arrested for DUI.