Nevada Concealed Weapon Carrying Laws (NRS 202.3653)
Nevada has a reputation for regulating guns and other weapons less strictly than other places. Ads for machine gun ranges and gun shows where permits are not required to purchase a weapon add to the perception that it is fine to carry a concealed weapon without any penalties in Las Vegas.
In reality, Nevada is very serious about regulating concealed weapons in the state, including who can carry one and where.
If you have been arrested for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit, you should hire LV Criminal Defense – a boutique Las Vegas criminal defense firm – as soon as possible.
What does it mean to conceal a weapon in Nevada?
A weapon that is carried by a person in a way that is not noticeable to others around him or her is considered a concealed weapon in Nevada. Concealed weapons can be loaded or unloaded.
Who is allowed to conceal a weapon in Las Vegas, Nevada?
Only people carrying valid permits are allowed to conceal a weapon in Las Vegas. Permits are only given to people who do not have felony convictions (learn more about felons in possession of a firearm) and who can pass a background check.
Other requirements for a concealed weapons permit in Las Vegas include:
Top Rated Criminal Lawyer
Nick Wooldridge has a long track record of representing clients accused of serious federal and state crimes in Nevada.TOP RATED ON:
SUPER LAWYERS, AVVO, NATIONAL TRIAL LAWYERS SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION NOW!
- Over the age of 21;
- Successful completion of a firearm safety course;
- No outstanding warrants;
- No mental health issues in the last 5 years;
- No habitual drug or alcohol abuse; and
- Not currently on parole or probation for any crime.
Where can a concealed weapon be carried?
A person with a proper permit can carry a concealed weapon anywhere except the following places in Nevada:
- Public school, university, or child care center;
- Public buildings such as courthouses that have metal detectors at the entrance and a sign stating that concealed weapons are not permitted; and
- Prisons or jails.
There are certain exceptions, but generally a concealed weapon cannot be carried in public buildings in Nevada without prior written permission.
What are the steps for a concealed weapons permit in Nevada?
A concealed weapons permit requires an application with the local sheriff’s office and a background check, along with a firearm competency course approved by the sheriff.
What are the penalties for concealing a weapon without a permit?
A concealed weapon can only be carried in Las Vegas, Nevada if the owner of the weapon has a concealed weapons permit and is carrying the permit with him or her.
If you are arrested for carrying a concealed weapon in Nevada without a proper permit, you can face the following penalties:
What Our Client are saying
When I initially met with Mr. Wooldridge, he took the opportunity to sit and go over my problem with me. He described details in my case which he found disturbing and explained why he I should have him on my side.
SHWEETHA IGNETIOUSCriminal Defense Client 5
- Category C felony charge;
- 1 to 5 years’ imprisonment; and
- Fines up to $5,000.
If you are arrested for carrying a concealed weapon that you have a permit for, but are carrying in a prohibited place, you face a misdemeanor charge instead. A Nevada misdemeanor for carrying a concealed weapon into a prohibited place can result in community service, up to six months in jail, and fines of up to $1,000.
If you forget to bring your concealed weapons permit with you, you can face a small fine of $25.
Any weapons-related charge in Nevada can bring serious consequences, including impacting your right to carry or own a weapon or jeopardizing your immigration rights. Contact LV Criminal Defense to represent you in reducing or dismissing your concealed weapons charges.