Nevada law limits ownership of weapons and firearms to certain people and only for certain purposes. If you have been arrested for illegal gun posession in Las Vegas, Nevada, you should retain a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to protect your rights.
Normally, a person in Nevada can purchase and own a weapon without registration or a special permit to do so. Certain people are not allowed to possess a gun, including:
If a person under the age of 18 is in possession of a firearm, the penalties can be very serious. A minor cannot possess a weapon for any of the following activities:
Minors may possess weapons in Las Vegas, Nevada, if they are supervised by a parent, guardian, or someone to whom the child’s parent or guardian gives authority.
If a minor person under the age of 18 carries or possesses a gun without the permission and supervision of a parent or guardian, he or she can be guilty of a “delinquent act,” which is the same as a felony for an adult.
Parents and other adults can be liable also if a minor possesses a weapon. If an adult helps a minor possess a gun without proper supervision, the adult can be liable as follows:
Nick Wooldridge has a long track record of representing clients accused of serious federal and state crimes in Nevada.TOP RATED ON:
Category C felonies carry 1 to 5 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
Category B felonies in Nevada carry 1 to 6 years in a Nevada prison and fines up to $5,000 for this offense.
Selling weapons to a minor, or someone suspected of being a minor, can also be a Category B felony.
An unlawful user, or a person addicted to, a controlled substance is not permitted to possess a weapon in Nevada.
The penalty for doing so is a Category B felony with 1 to 6 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
When I initially met with Mr. Wooldridge, he took the opportunity to sit and go over my problem with me. He described details in my case which he found disturbing and explained why he I should have him on my side.
Unlawful possession of a firearm by a drug user is a lesser-included offense of a felon in possession charge in Nevada. This means that you cannot be convicted of both according to a recent Nevada Supreme Court Case called Byars v. State (2014).
Any of the following people who possess a firearm in Nevada are doing so unlawfully:
If you fall into one of these categories and are convicted of unlawful possession of a firearm in Las Vegas, you can be subject to penalties for a Category D felony.
Category D felonies carry 1 to 4 years in a Nevada prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
All charges involving weapons are serious, especially those involving people who are not lawfully in possession of the gun in the first place.
An experienced Nevada defense lawyer can assist you in having the charges reduced to protect your rights to own a gun in the future, to get employed, and to stay in the United States if you are not a citizen.