The state of Nevada has many different laws that attempt to ensure the safety of the general population. Title 15 is the part of Nevada’s law that criminalizes many behaviors that the state considers to be unlawful because of the threat the conduct presents to people, property, or public order. Within Title 15, different offenses are divided into different chapters. Chapter 202, for example, is the part of title 15 that criminalizes conduct that could undermine public safety and health.
Within Chapter 202, crimes against public health and safety are further subdivided into different categories of offenses. For example, one subcategory of crimes in Chapter 202 deals with offenses related to alcohol. Although it is legal for adults to possess, consume, and sell alcohol in Nevada, there are limitations imposed in connection with alcoholic beverages. For example, there are many provisions of Chapter 202 that aim to prevent minors from being sold alcohol and that aim to prevent minors from drinking alcohol, possessing alcohol, or trying to buy alcohol.
Chapter 202 does not only attempt to keep alcohol out of the hands of minors. There is also a statute within Chapter 202 that ensures that dangerous alcoholic products are not sold to adults either. This statute, Nevada Revised Statute section 202.065, prevents the sale of substances that contain too high of a volume of alcohol. Very strong alcoholic beverages can have deadly effects on the body, and N.R.S. 202.065 aims to prevent alcoholic beverages that are too strong to be safe from being sold.
If you have been accused of any violation of Chapter 202, including offenses related to the unlawful sale of alcoholic beverages that contain too much alcohol, you should reach out to a Vegas criminal lawyer who can provide help as you respond to charges. LV Criminal Defense has extensive experience providing knowledgeable representation to defendants accused of alcohol offenses and we can put our legal skill to work to help you fight for the best outcome possible given the circumstances.
Nevada Revised Statute section 202.065 establishes a clear standard for determining when someone can be found guilty of the offense of selling alcoholic substances that are too strong. According to the relevant statute, individuals and businesses within the state of Nevada are not allowed to sell any alcoholic beverage that contains more than 80 percent of alcohol by volume.
If any individual sells alcoholic beverages that contain more than 80 percent of alcohol by volume, that individual can be charged with a criminal offense. Violating the law against selling strong substances that contain more than 80 percent alcohol by volume can result in a defendant being charged with and potentially convicted of a misdemeanor criminal offense.
Nick Wooldridge has a long track record of representing clients accused of serious federal and state crimes in Nevada.
If you are accused of the sale of alcoholic beverages containing more than 80 percent of alcohol by volume, the prosecutor will have the legal burden of proving beyond a reasonable doubt that you broke the law. You do not have to prove innocence but can introduce doubt so guilt cannot be proved. You could also get an acquittal by raising affirmative defenses justifying your actions.
LV Criminal Defense can help you to determine if you have options to defend yourself and can provide assistance going to court to fight for your acquittal. We can also help you to try to get charges dropped, to enter a pre-trial diversion program to avoid a criminal record or to negotiate a plea agreement in which you are charged with a lesser offense or reduced penalties are recommended. To find out more about how our firm can assist you, give us a call today to talk with a Nevada defense attorney you can trust to fight for you.