LV Criminal Defense provides representation to defendants who are accused of sexual offenses. Our goal is always to help offenders avoid and minimize penalties, including avoiding being made to register as a sex offender. Being made to register as a sex offender can change a person’s life for the duration of the time that registration is required, so fighting against charges that could lead to registration is vital.
If you are made to register as a sex offender because you have been convicted of a sex crime, our Vegas defense attorneys can provide you with help fulfilling your obligations and understanding your rights. We can assist you in making certain that you comply with registration rules and can help you to do everything possible to avoid further legal trouble. We can also assist you in understanding the laws applicable to your registration requirements, including the rules in N.R.S. 179D.490, which sets forth the duration of your duty to register and explains how the termination of your duty works.
Nick Wooldridge has a long track record of representing clients accused of serious federal and state crimes in Nevada.
Under Nevada law, a sex offender is required to register for a set number of years based on the specifics of the offense that he has committed. Offenders in the state of Nevada are classified into different Tiers, including Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III. Tier I is the least serious, while Tier III is the most serious and offenders will only be classified as Tier III if they have committed major criminal offenses.
N.R.S. 179D.490 explains that a Tier I offender is required to register as a sex offender for a period of 15 years, while a Tier II offender is required to register for a period of 25 years. Tier III offenders are required to register for the rest of their life.
N.R.S. 179D.490 also indicates that when a Tier I offender complies with registration rules for 10 consecutive years or a Tier III Offender complies with registration rules for at least 25 years, the offender can petition to have the time period for required registration reduced. To be eligible to petition for a reduction in registration duration, the offender must have complied with all registration rules, the offender must not have been convicted of another offense that could result in a year or more of jail time, and the offender must have complied with all parole or probation periods. The offender must also have completed a sex offender treatment program that has been certified by the state of Nevada.
The offender will need to petition to reduce his registration period with the jurisdiction where he lives, where he goes to school and/or where he works. The court will hold a hearing and interested persons, including the offender, can present witnesses. The court will determine based on the evidence presented whether shortening the registration time is appropriate or not. LV Criminal Defense can help you to present evidence during this hearing to maximize the chances that you will be able to get your registration period shortened so you can move on with your life.
There is a big difference in being required to register for 15 years, 25 years, or for the rest of your life, so you want to make sure you do everything possible to be classified as the lowest tier offender or to avoid being found guilty of an offense altogether. LV Criminal Defense will help you to come up with a sound legal strategy for fighting charges, which may include negotiating a plea deal to a lesser offense that will reduce your offender tier or which may include trying to fight conviction and get acquitted.
If you have already been convicted, our Las Vegas criminal lawyer is here to help you understand the rules applicable to sex offender registration. We will work with you to protect your rights and to fight for your future, so give us a call as soon as possible for help.