In the state of Nevada, homicide offenses are punished harshly. While there are different degrees of crimes, including murder, voluntary manslaughter, and involuntary manslaughter, homicide offenses are generally always felony offenses and defendants who are convicted will usually serve at least some time in jail.
Nevada Law Chapter 200, which deals with crimes against the person, sets forth the rules for homicide offenses. In addition to defining what types of behavior constitute each different type of homicide offense, there are also statutes within Chapter 200 that deal with special circumstances that arise in homicide cases. One such statute relates to what happens when an unborn child is killed.
If you are accused of killing an unborn child and are facing potential charges for a homicide crime, it is important that you are represented by an experienced Nevada criminal defense attorney who understands how to provide representation in these complicated high-stakes cases. LV Criminal Defense is here to help you to fight charges that you killed an unborn child and to help you determine the best legal strategy to follow when you are facing life-changing criminal charges.
It is important to contact an attorney as soon as possible if you come under investigation for the killing of an unborn child or for any homicide offense. Call our compassionate and knowledgeable legal team today to find out how we can assist you with fighting for an acquittal or negotiating a favorable plea agreement.
Nevada Revised Statute section 200.210 is the statute that addresses the killing of an unborn child. According to the relevant law, a person can be guilty of the offense of killing of an unborn quick child if an individual kills that child by causing an injury to the child’s mother.
If the prosecutor can prove that a defendant injured the mother and thus caused the death of the child that she was carrying, the defendant can be found guilty of the offense of manslaughter. Under N.R.S. 200.210, the manslaughter crime of killing an unborn quick child by injuring the mother can be charged as a Category B felony.
Nick Wooldridge has a long track record of representing clients accused of serious federal and state crimes in Nevada.TOP RATED ON:
Felony offenses carry serious penalties. In this case, the defendant who has been convicted of killing an unborn quick child could be sentenced to a minimum of one year imprisonment and a maximum term of imprisonment of 10 years. In addition to the prison sentence, the defendant could be fined up to $10,000. A felony conviction on a defendant’s record can also have far-reaching and life changing consequences, as being classified as a felon can affect many fundamental rights related to voting, owning weapons, and serving on a jury.
A Nevada defense attorney at LV Criminal Defense can provide the advocacy and representation you need if you have been accused of violating any provisions of Chapter 200 of Title 15 of the Nevada Code related to crimes against persons. Whether you are accused of a homicide crime involving an unborn quick child or are facing charges for any other homicide offense, we are here to help you fight for the most favorable possible outcomes.
Give us a call today to learn more about how we can put our legal knowledge and experience to work to help you try to stay out of jail, secure an acquittal, or face the minimal penalties possible given the circumstances of your case.
When I initially met with Mr. Wooldridge, he took the opportunity to sit and go over my problem with me. He described details in my case which he found disturbing and explained why he I should have him on my side.